Walmley Golf Club

Warwickshire Golf Awards 2017


Tim Gilpin and Jamie Brooks

Walmley Golf Club enjoyed a double dose of success at the annual County golf awards dinner at the Belfry on Friday evening.

With final three nominations in every one of the five categories contested, two Walmley winners were announced with Jamie Brooks taking the Greenkeeper of the Year title, and Tim Gilpin collecting the Manager of the Year Award.

Walmley’s other three nominations for awards all lost out to winners with exceptional credentials and service longevity. Afterwards, Chairman Andy Mitchell said, “This has certainly shown the rest of our peer group what a great club Walmley is and it reflects all of the hard work you have all put in to achieve this recognition.

Many congratulations to all of you. I am one very proud Chairman”.

In his presentation interview Jamie acknowledged the support that he has received from all sections of the club, but first and foremost, his greens team who were collectively responsible for the transformation of the course to its present level. ”If you think it’s good now” he said “just wait until next year”. He also paid a big compliment to his previous employers at The Belfry where he had spent 16 years learning his trade. The reciprocal cheers from the Belfry table were a great demonstration of his achievements and the respect with which this young Course Manager is held.

In accepting The Manager of the Year award, Tim Gilpin acknowledged the benefits of his experience with a corporate group before moving into the management of a Members Club. He thanked the Board, members and staff of the club for their support and excitedly looked forward to helping take Walmley Golf Club into the next stage of a major devolvement plan.

The achievements of all sectors of the game in Warwickshire were recognised over the course of the evening, and Walmley were well represented by Bob Soen and Mike Calvert who had played in the National finals of the English Seniors Championship.

Walmley Nominees:   Richard Evans, Keith Haywood, Tim Gilpin, Sam Stuart, Jamie Brooks

Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.