Walmley Golf Club

Junior Presentation Evening 2017 on Saturday 25th November.



Walmley Golf club was almost full to capacity, with 116 people celebrating a wonderful year of Junior golf at Walmley.

In total, the Juniors have played in 30 competitions this year, with 19 club trophies, the Order of Merit and Players Player of the Year award up for grabs. Not only has the number of active Juniors increased to 24 this year, we have also introduced 12 new Colt golfers to the club who have played eight 6-9 hole supervised competitions throughout the year.When you also consider that Sam Stuart is currently coaching around 40 children through his academy, it is clear that Walmley has a junior set up that is the envy of most golf clubs in the midlands.

As has become the recent tradition, the evening began with a buffet style meal presented by Pascal and his team. Even with 116 guests, some managed to help themselves to second’s (Liam....thirds??). For those that have not attended a Junior presentation night, we aim for the evening to be much more than a presentation evening. Junior organiser (and Warwickshire Junior organiser of the year nominee!) Richard Evans compered the evening which started with a game of heads and tails. This is sure to be a ‘must have’ inclusion in all future presentation evenings and Junior golfer Ethan Hall took the prize.

The next activity on the evening’s agenda was the quiz, which this year featured a picture round of the juniors and a music round which asked for the artist, song and junior that the song represented. Particular favourites included, the Benny Hill theme for Sean Devlin, “Everybody Hurts” for Noah Winwood, “Heaven Knows I’m Miserable Now” for current Captain Matt Ryan and the Toy Story theme “You’ve Got a Friend in Me”, for next year’s Captain Joe Moore. We thank everyone for their sense of humour throughout this round!

Onto the awards and serious business of the evening began. Starting with the academy section, young golfers Carter Bates and Samuel Tooth were each presented with a Star of the future award by Madam Vice Captain Jane Mitchell. Into the Colts section, young Sam Storer won the Club Championship and the Order of Merit, whilst Tom Allen finished Runner up in both events.

Into the Juniors next and the amount of trophies on offer showed just how the Junior section has grown in recent years. Through the year the Junior Section has lost 136 shots in total which illustrates just how competitive the year has been.

The list of trophy winners is shown below and all players received their awards from Mr Captain Adrian Bird. A special mention must be made for Ben Evans who won the Order of Merit for a second year running, Sam Knowles who won the Frank White (best gross) Club Championships despite being only 12 years old, Ethan Hall for winning the Singles knock out competition and Liam Harrison who capped a wonderful year of continued progression to receive the Players Player of the Year award.

Thank you to everyone that has supported the Juniors this year and we look forward to doing it all again next year!

Richard Storer


The Chris Gibson Cup  Seb Bagley & Noah Winwood

The Spring Salver

The John Whitworth Trophy

Alfie Barron 

Ben Storer

The H.L. Dugmore Trophy   Alfie Barron
The G.Lutz Trophy   Sean Devlin
The Peter Skerritt Trophy  Alex Rafferty
The Alf Thrush Trophy  Leena Yakoob
The Gwen Pullar Trophy   Tom Quiggin
Junior Open Alfie Barron
Junior Champion Gross   Sam Knowles
Junior Champion Nett  Billy Bateman
Junior Champion U14 Gross   Ben Evans
Junior Champion U14 Nett   Ben Storer
League High Scorer   Matt Ryan
Ray Walsh Trophy   Joe Moore, Ben Evans, Liam Harrison, Alex Rafferty & Alfie Barron
Summer Singles Runner-up   Noah Winwood
Summer Singles Champion   Ethan Hall
Order of Merit Runner-up   Tom Quiggin
Order of Merit Champion   Ben Evans 
Players Player of the Year   Liam Harrison


Carter Bates and Samuel Tooth


Liam Harrison


Ben Evans


Seb Bagley & Noah Winwood


Ben Storer


Alfie Barron


Sean Devlin


Alex Rafferty


Leena Yakoob


Tom Quiggin


Sam Knowles


Matt Ryan


Ethan Hall


 The Ray Walsh Trophy Winners 2017



Return to News Page

Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2
CONGU® is Copyright Council of National Golf Unions.